top of page
  • Lisa

Refining the Farmhouse Trend


Are you wondering if the Modern Farmhouse trend is fizzling out? I keep reading on design sites some of the trends to abandon in 2018 is shiplap. Oh, boy. What are the Joanna Gaines fans going to do next? I wonder if Waco's economy will suffer.

I must say I like portions of the Farmhouse trends. I, for one, am not going to part with my Kohler Farmhouse sink anytime soon. It was love at first sight and angels singing "hallelujah" when I saw this one at the Utah Valley Parade of Homes in this home built by Raykon Construction.

pic by Jared Medley Photography find

Fixated of this cast-iron beauty playing a main role in my upcoming kitchen design, I was deflated to learn my husband didn't share the same passion. He pointed out valid concerns such as how much water will it take to wash a load of dishes? And don't you want a divider?

But I was smitten. And it didn't take much prodding from a good friend to make me bite the bullet -- well before my home was even framed. Now having lived in my home for a month, I am getting used to the quirks, if you will, of not having a divider and using a dishpan if I am feeling guilty for wasting water. Down the road, the first time a grandchild is bathed in that sink assuredly all buyer's remorse will go down the drain among the suds.

I don't think I'm alone in picking an a la carte version of the Farmhouse style. "Sheila Schmitz, editor of Houzz stated, "People embraced the farmhouse style, but now they're closing one, two or three elements versus the whole ball of wax in once space...to me it feels like refined farmhouse style." Schmitz said to look for more warm wood details with white, gold tones, vintage lighting, trough sinks, (Yay! There's my sink reinforcement), cement elements and Shaker cabinets with modern pulls.

Don't we all pick apart certain elements of design that we like already? Design shouldn't be a cookie-cutter image or fit a certain mold. It should represent what speaks to us. Some Modern Farmhouse speaks to me, yet Transitional speaks to me as well.

I just have a hard time digesting the entire home being encased with strictly one style. Or one label. So, I am curious to see how this Modern Farmhouse trend will evolve. I just hope it's not an eye sore in twenty years like some of the homes designed in the 70's. If you know the ones I'm thinking about, pray with me those don't make a comeback.

Let me know what elements of design you embrace and what you'd love to kick to the curb.

(If you have angels singing to you telling you this sink needs to be in your life, too, click on the image below.)


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page