top of page
  • Writer's picturelisa

Best Catering in the State: Culinary Crafts


Catered events are certainly on the rise. Schools, sporting teams, business and many more entities are jumping aboard the catering scene; it’s not just for weddings anymore.

What is driving the need for catering? From a recent study from Koncept Analytics, three major influencers are contributing to the rise of catering:

  • Rising demand for customized food

  • Growing middle class

  • Increase role of technology

Might I just add my non-scientific observation? We are just accustomed to good food and are getting lazier and don't want to do it ourselves.

Whatever the reason, chances are you will be in the position to look for a caterer sometime in your life. I recently had the opportunity to sample a few of the offerings from the Best of State Winner of 2018, Culinary Crafts in Pleasant Grove. Apparently they have won this award sixteen times!

I attended an instructional BBQ class taught by the founder’s son, Ryan Crafts. He certainly knows his “craft.” Armed with a gamut of information on all of the facets of BBQing, he taught a packed classroom anything from his favorite briquettes to use to how to smoke strawberries wrapped in pancetta.

It’s obvious Culinary Crafts knows how to throw a party and what the client wants and needs. I’m not going to try to regurgitate what he taught that evening – I’ll simply post the bounty he produced in pictures. Fair warning: you will be hungry after looking at these photos.

Honestly, I couldn't wait to try these strawberries I mentioned. Wrapped in pancetta, these were smoked in a Traeger grill and served with a side of mascarpone cheese.

Since I started with dessert first, here's the other sweet sight of the night: grilled, brown-sugar glazed mangos that served with a lime curd -- oh my! It was my favorite of all.

Beer braised Utah Colosimo sausages with raspberry chutney and cumin-jalapeño rubbed chicken with pineapple salsa in the works.

Certified Angus Beef flank steak with chimichurri

wet-rubbed Rocky Mountain trout with green apple relish

Awaiting their turn on the grill, Ryan likes to keep these sausages warming in beer prior to grilling them.

And you can never go wrong with marinated shrimp and cippolini onions with spicy tomato jam

I warned you. All of the food was just as good as it looks. I enjoyed getting a behind-the-scenes look at this facility as I have always followed Mary Crafts-Homer. I remember her segment on KBYU TV many years ago. It was apparent then she knew her way around a kitchen. Her story is quite fascinating; you'll agree with me after reading this story about her rags-to-riches stories and the rewards of her hard work. It just makes you appreciate the success of Culinary Crafts all the more. Continually offering cooking classes at their facilities, you can find out what they offer here.

Hopefully you might be able to attend an event catered by them. If not, maybe you'll find me racing behind one of their trucks to see where they land because the writing on the truck almost invites me. It says something to the effect that they are "off to another catering event." Forget chasing ambulances. I have found a new hobby.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page