top of page
  • Writer's picturelisa

Framing a Memory

Updated: Oct 16, 2020




If you have ever lost a loved one, you will understand that you try to embrace every memory and memento associated with that person. We are approaching the two-year mark when I lost my mom to pancreatic cancer. My siblings and I have been sifting through her belongings which of course result in memories resulting in tears being shed. I have tried to incorporate some of her jewelry and other keepsakes into my decor where I will see them more. Recently, I came upon one of her scarves. It was such a striking piece, I knew it would be perfect to frame. But, finding a frame for that exact size is tricky. Then I discovered Frame It Easy. I was amazed at both the selection and the pricing of their frames. What I didn't know what their company is aptly named FrameItEasy for a reason.


I ordered the wood Granby gold frame. The ordering process was seamless. You simply put in the measurements of your art piece and they do the calculations. In my case, the scarf was 24x24. I decided to add a mat to it, so it adjusted the size of the frame accordingly, ending up just over 29x29.



Once the frame arrived (which was meticulously packed) I went to work. I couldn't believe I could do this. I thought it would be much harder.


First of all, I steamed my scarf to rid it of any wrinkles or creases. Then, I taped the scarf to the back of the mat -- I highly recommend doing the mat for this very reason. I used masking tape -- nothing too fancy, but I think it will work.



Wha-la! That was it. I think the hardest part was finding a place for it. It is in my bedroom where I can see it every morning when I wake up.


Frame It Easy is giving you 10 percent off your order if you order through this link. Let me know what you've framed or what you want to frame someday.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page